Science and research are an established tradition in our city. Bonn's university was founded in 1818 and currently has more than 29,000 students from over 140 countries. In a recent ranking published by the British Times Higher Education magazine, the University of Bonn came in second of all universities Germany-wide that were looked at for their international orientation and reputation. The RFW University is among the largest universities in Germany and has produced two Nobel Prize Laureates in its recent history.

The Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn is among the largest universities in Germany. The University offers roughly 80 major and minor fields of study in various degree programmes. Bonn University is a renowned academic institution, with a bias towards international cooperation. In terms of the number of guest professors from other countries involved in top-flight research, Bonn University ranks amongst the top ten German universities. Together with the roughly 100 Humboldt research fellows ( visiting each year, they add to the international dimension of teaching and research in Bonn.

The institutes, departments, and clinics of the University are not concentrated in a campus, but scattered over a number of sites in the city. The main building, which houses both Faculties of Theology, Humanities, the Faculty of Arts, and the administration, is located in the city centre, as are the Law School and the University Library. Most of the Natural Sciences Institutes and the Faculty of Agriculture are situated in the adjacent Poppelsdorf and Endenich districts. The clinics of the Medical Faculty are concentrated in a complex on the Venusberg hill.

International Office

The International Office (Akademisches Auslandsamt) is responsible for co-ordinating the University's foreign contacts. In addition to comprehensive formal partnerships, there are various co-operative agreements. Regular student exchanges take place with numerous universities around the world, including highly renowned institutions in the United States, United Kingdom, France, Japan, Poland, Canada, Australia, Finland, Italy, Spain, Sweden, and Taiwan. The University also participates in mobility programmes organised by the European Union, such as ERASMUS, Tempus, and Lingua programmes. There are also special programmes for foreign students and graduates. In addition, individual institutes maintain a large number of contacts with foreign universities.

learn more...

To top